Salmon Arm Sports Shorts

Cycling champs missed

In the results for the July 10 Rev El Stoked to Get Spanked mountain bike race in Revelstoke, a super Shuswap cyclist was missed. Lee English placed second in the 30-49 Men’s Elite 34-kilometre race with a time of 2:29:12.4. Coming behind him in third place was Warren Ellis in 2:29:29.5.

In the Stoked Male U17 race, Kyle Flatman placed first.

In the 2011 Canadian XC MTB Championships, three Salmon Arm cyclists, not two, competed.

Along with Thomas Hardy and John Connor  who raced for Team BC and placed third and six respectively, Kyle Flatman raced as an independent, placing eighth.


Pro-Am game set to go

Salmon Arm Hockey School will be having its annual Pro-Am Scholarship Hockey Game on Wednesday, Aug. 10 at Sunwave Centre starting at 7:30 p.m. A number of National Hockey League players, WHL, BCHL, KIJHL and college stars will be on hand to provide another fun-filled evening of summer hockey entertainment. Names of participants will be released as they confirm with the organizers.

Last year’s scholarship winner was outstanding rookie defenceman with the Sicamous Eagles of the KIJHL and Salmon Arm Minor Hockey product, Joel Kipp. Kipp graduated from Salmon Arm Secondary this year. Tickets will go on sale shortly at various outlets in Salmon Arm.

More cycling victories

John Connor and Thomas Hardy showed their style once again at the Canada Cup XC mountain-biking event in Edmonton July 21-24. Both cyclists, who are members of Team BC, went to the front and finished their first lap together. However, reports Cycling BC, while Connor cruised to victory, Thomas was forced to run the last half lap, dropping to third as his bike derailer was ripped apart by the mud.

Winning bridge

July 14: Fifth Avenue Seniors Activity Centre Social Bridge - 1. Mary MacKenzie, 2. Peggy Fetterly, 3. Dorothy Boyle, 4. Norm Hannett. July 18: 1. Peter Siemens, 2. Sylvester Wysocki, 3. Orville Cooper, 4. Natalie Sadiski.

July 21: Fifth Avenue Seniors Activity Centre Social Bridge - 1. June Scott, 2. Peggy Fetterly, 3. Georgina Marshall, 4. Norm Hannett. 17:52:41


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Related Stories

You might like ...

Community Events, February 2017

Add an Event