Writers Union hosts prose competition

A $2,500 prize will be awarded to an unpublished Canadian writer, and the entries of the winner and finalists will be submitted

  • Dec. 24, 2012 6:00 a.m.

The Writers’ Union of Canada has launched its 20th Annual Short Prose Competition for Developing Writers, which invites writers to submit a piece of fiction or non-fiction of up to 2,500 words in the English language that has not previously been published in any format.

A $2,500 prize will be awarded to an unpublished Canadian writer, and the entries of the winner and finalists will be submitted to three Canadian magazines for consideration.

The deadline for entries is March 1, 2013.

The Union initiated the Short Prose Competition in 1993 in honour of its 20th anniversary. The Competition aims to discover, encourage, and promote new writers of short prose.

“Every year the Short Prose Competition has yielded some superb entries,” notes the union’s executive director John Degen.

“Previous finalists and winners have included such luminaries as Alexander MacLeod, Shauna Singh Baldwin, Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer, and Lewis DeSoto.”

The union is proud to announce an esteemed group of jurors for this year’s short prose competition.

A previous finalist herself, Ami McKay went on to publish the bestselling novel The Birth House, which was nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

Her latest novel, The Virgin Cure, was inspired by her great-great grandmother, who was a female physician in 19th century New York.

Rosemary Nixon is the acclaimed author of two short story collections, including The Cock’s Egg, which received the Howard O’Hagan Short Fiction Award. Her debut novel, Kalila, was released to strong reviews in 2011.

Satirical and speculative fiction writer Mark A. Rayner has written novels, short stories, humorous fiction, and plays. His 2005 novel, The Amadeus Net, was long-listed for the Philip K. Dick Award.

His latest release, Pirate Therapy and Other Cures, is a collection of short stories, essays, and flash fiction.

The competition is open to Canadian residents who have not had a book published by a commercial or university press and who do not have a contract with a book publisher.

Submissions should be sent along with a $29 entry fee per submission to The Writers’ Union of Canada at 90 Richmond St. East, Suite 200, Toronto, Ontario, M5C 1P1, by March 1, 2013.

The winner will be announced in May. For complete rules and regulations, go to http://www.writersunion.ca/short-prose.

The Writers’ Union of Canada is the national organization representing professional book authors.

Founded in 1973, the union is dedicated to fostering writing in Canada and promoting the rights, freedoms, and economic well-being of all writers.

For more information, visit www.writersunion.ca.



Just Posted

Mobile Mammograms coming to Salmon Arm

The truck will be in town from April 11-15

Changes to dog ban on foreshore approved

Time of Salmon Arm prohibition will be two weeks later in spring

Parcel tax jump coming to combat city’s poor road rating

Salmon Arm paved road grade drops below 50, transportation parcel tax may increase by $30

Okanagan-Shuswap weather: A mix of sun and cloud, potential showers

Environment Canada predicts showers today will go away to allow for sun later in the week.

Small slide reaches highway’s edge east of Canoe

Ministry to monitor site, otherwise no concerns reported in area

The good, bad and the unknown of Apple’s new services

The announcements lacked some key details, such as pricing of the TV service

Coroner’s inquest announced for Victoria teen’s overdose death

Elliot Eurchuk was 16 years old when he died of an opioid overdose at his Oak Bay home

Military officer accused of sexual misconduct, drunkenness in B.C., Alberta

Warrant Officer Jarvis Kevin Malone is charged under the National Defence Act

Wildfires from last year can cause hot spots in Okanagan

Kelowna - Most overwintering fires will occur well within the original fire’s perimeter.

Stranger climbs onto B.C. family’s second-floor balcony, lights fire in barbecue

Incident in Abbotsford terrifies family with two-year-old boy

Harbour Air to convert to all-electric seaplanes

Seaplane company to modify fleet with a 750-horsepower electric motor

‘Planet of the Geese’: Okanagan city’s parks a muck with goose poop

Off leash dogs proposed as a suggestion to cleaning up the mess

Protecting natural habitat: Okanagan provincial park expands its borders

19 hectares of protected land has been added to Myra-Bellevue Provincial Park in Kelowna

VIDEO: Teenage girl was person killed in three-vehicle crash in Coquitlam

Police are investigating the fatal crash at Mariner Way and Riverview Crescent

Most Read