Election 2014: Group of 19 runs for council

City of Salmon Arm: Salmon Arm voters will have no shortage of choices, come Nov. 15

Salmon Arm voters will have no shortage of choices, come Nov. 15.

It’s now a four-way race for mayor and a 15-way race for councillor.

Vying for the mayor’s chair are incumbent mayor Nancy Cooper, incumbent councillor Debbie Cannon and former mayors Marty Bootsma and Ian Wickett.

The deadline for nominations was 4 p.m. Friday.

The last mayoralty candidate to declare late Friday afternoon, Wickett said he has accumulated a lot of information and experience, and thought it was time to put it back to use.

He added: “I don’t get mired in the past, I have ideas for the future, too.”

In the race for councillor, three incumbents and 12 newcomers are seeking the six positions available.

Incumbents running are Chad Eliason, Alan Harrison and Ken Jamieson.

Former councillors running are Kevin Flynn and Ivan Idzan.

Newcomers are Diana Altschul, Tom Birch, Jay Cadeau, Keith Chancellor, Tim Giandomenico, Jim Kimmerly, Tim Lavery, Wayne Masters, Ruth Thomas and Louise Wallace Richmond.

In the race for Salmon Arm trustee for School District #83’s board of education, incumbents Bobbi Johnson and Michel Saab are running, along with newcomers Marcel Bedard and Dale Townsend.

A municipal all-candidates forum hosted by the Salmon Arm Chamber of Commerce and Downtown Salmon Arm is scheduled for Monday, Oct. 27 from 6 to 8 p.m. at the Prestige Harbourfront Resort.

Because of time constraints, only written questions will be used. Also, there might not be time for all questions submitted. Submit yours by Oct. 27 at the latest by going to www.sachamber.bc.ca or www.salmonarmdowntown.com and select the link for question submissions. Questions will be viewed by a committee and will be queued by key topic and date of submission.