Neskonlith to hold second election

Although the Neskonlith Indian Band held an election of chief and council in January, another election is in the offing

Although the Neskonlith Indian Band held an election of chief and council in January, another election is in the offing.

Electoral officer Bruce Mack posted notice that an election will be held on Thursday, July 30 for chief and four councillors.

Coun. Louis Thomas, who was acclaimed as councillor for Salmon Arm in the January election, will retain his seat on council  because, as the lone candidate, there was no election for his position.

A nomination meeting was held on Tuesday, June 9 in Neskonlith Hall in Chase, where unofficial results show three people were nominated as candidates for chief and  10 for the four council positions.

Mack told the Market News there was an appeal of the election which was upheld by an adjudicator.

“There certainly wasn’t any inappropriate behaviour or action on the part of any candidate,” Mack explained.

Mack said in the Neskonlith election code, a person is ineligible to run for band council if they have any outstanding debts to the band. However, for administrative reasons, Mack said, that was waived for the last election.

Someone then appealed on the basis that it was a breach of the code, he said, and the adjudicator agreed.

Unofficial nomination results show that vying for the chief’s position, now filled by Chief Judy Wilson who was elected in January for her third term, are Wilson, Janice Billy and Randy Narcisse.

Narcisse ran for chief in the last election but Billy did not. Bonnie Thomas ran for the chief’s position in the January election, placing second, but she did not put her name forward this time.

Nine candidates competed for the five council spots in January.

Along with Louis Thomas,  three incumbents were elected – Art Anthony, Karen R. August and Joan Manuel-Hooper – as well as newcomer  Fay Ginther.

This time, the 10 people nominated (unofficially) for the four open positions are the four candidates elected last time, as well as: Margaret Denault, Frank Denault, Randy Sam, Jennifer Dick, Renee Narcisse and Dwayne Manuel.



Just Posted

Shuswap’s Rust Valley Restorers team rolling onto Netflix

Mike and Connor Hall, Avery Shoaf see television show picked up by streaming service

Canada geese in the Shuswap: Beautiful milfoil eaters or poopy pests?

Numbers of geese increasing in the Shuswap to the joy of some people and dismay of others

Salmon Arm’s Sebastien Archambault joins Humboldt Broncos

Defenceman played last two seasons with Junior B Sicamous Eagles

Shuswap artists invited to bring the noise

Sound machine exhibit planned for Salmon Arm Art Gallery in 2020

Sister Speak comes home to Okanagan on world tour

Shosws in Kelowna, Vernon and Revelstoke

South Okanagan wildfire monitored closely for hot spots

The Eagle Bluff wildfire, north of Oliver, is classified as held

Drugs, cash and 11 people apprehended at North Okanagan house

RCMP executed warrant at 35th Street home for second time in a month

UBC Okanagan, Lake Country joint community pool not a reality

Lake Country residents want a community pool, survey shows

Hell’s Angel prospect back in custody after being charged with assault

The 30-year-old man now faces several additional charges

B.C. family stranded in Croatia desperate to come home

Funds being raised to bring back mom and two children

New South Okanagan winery will open its doors soon

Phantom Creek Estates announced its new CEO and winemaker, and completed first phase of construction

B.C. man tells judge he attempted suicide a month before daughters’ murders

Andrew Berry takes stand in his defense for December 2017 deaths of young daughters

‘Plenty of time for a deal’: Teachers’ union expects kids back in school on Sept. 3

BCTF says class size, composition at the heart of the issue

Most Read